Potatoes and Matt Damon

CToW2kOUAAAy3XZ
Credit: @TheMarsGen on Twitter.

Today, I’m participating in a fundraiser event for The Mars Generation.  The participants in the event are basically “stranded on Mars,” and have to ration ten medium-sized potatoes and sixteen ounces of water for the twenty-four-hour period.  (The whole thing can totally be done during one’s daily routine, and you don’t have to follow it.)  The participation takes place on Twitter, where we Martians not only help spread the word to raise money, but can also earn more perks like ketchup, coffee, and more water.

Check out info on the event with the hashtag #PotatoChallenge on Twitter, and at the following webpages:

https://www.givemn.org/organization/themarsgeneration
http://themarsgeneration.org/give-to-mars-day-november-12-how-you-can-help/


Now that that important passion is mentioned, onto the fandom stuff.

The-Martian-movie-poster

If you haven’t seen The Martian yet, WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?!  IT’S AWESOME!

I’ve seen the movie twice, and am currently reading the book.  Still “currently” because toward the end of the book I’m reading as little as possible — I don’t want it to end!

Though I don’t know any differently, I think Matt Damon was perfect for the part of movie Mark Watney.  To keep this post from getting too long, I’ll just let you figure it out for yourself.  Although, I’m sure that it also mostly has to do with my new fandom obsession with Matt Damon as an actor.  I watched The Monuments Men yesterday with Hubby.  It was a great movie with an all-star cast, including Matt Damon.

Credit: roadside-attraction.com
Credit: roadside-attraction.com

Right now, I’m sitting at Starbucks doing homework.  I’ve made some good progress on it, but now I want to take a break to watch a movie.  The Bourne Identity, to be specific.  The internet connection here isn’t having it.  Boo.  I’ve only seen the trilogy once, after seeing The Bourne Legacy several times, because of the fandom obsession both Hubby and I had over Jeremy Renner in 2012.  Actually, it was the exact same situation with the Mission Impossible series of movies, haha.  I only saw the trilogy once after a lot of Ghost Protocol views.

Jeremy Renner in The Bourne Legacy. Credit: collider.com

Anyway, I guess Jason Bourne will have to wait until I get back home.  Until then, I’ll make some more headway in astronomy class, eat potatoes, post to Twitter, and listen to the Christmas music playing in Starbucks.

Starbucks_Holiday_Cups-lowres
2015 red cups. Credit: news.starbucks.com

Find me on other social media:
INSTAGRAM: @kuri_thevegan
TWITTER: @KuriTheVegan
TSU: @KuriTheVegan

Author: Kuri

Kuri is a nerdy, introverted, clean-eating vegan who moved to a small town in the USA. She spends her time running, gaming, learning about food, astronomy, and grammar, watching her favourite movies/television, reading, and being an overall fangirl.

Leave a Reply

