Historical Stargazing

(This post is not sponsored.)

I’ve always loved to look into the positions of planets, constellations, and other astronomical bodies during certain times and events in history.  When I was 15, I even did a time-lapse representation of how far the planets had actually travelled during my lifetime.

Cyan = Jupiter Fuchsia = Saturn Blue = Uranus Olive = Neptune Grey = Pluto
Cyan = Jupiter
Fuchsia = Saturn
Blue = Uranus
Olive = Neptune
Grey = Pluto

Nowadays, I love to use apps on my iPad. (My favourite is Sky Guide, but the images in this post are from SkyView. Both are linked at the bottom.)  There’s so much info available at our fingertips it’s amazing!  I don’t know if it had been just added, but I didn’t discover until about a month ago that you can set the date and time in the SkyView app!  My first instinct, of course, was to see how the sky looked the moment I was born, from the place I was born.  I found enough irony and coincidence that I wanted to share.

Let me take you back to December of 19*cough cough*, at 0653 local time.  The sun’s threatening to rise as this girl makes her grand entrance, surprising a couple of new parents with the fact that all the blue things they’d bought for me would have to do 😋.

(Note: The red line is the horizon.)

Saturn, my favourite extra-terrestrial planet in our solar system, has arrived just in time to welcome me, seemingly holding the hand of her curious little brother Mercury.  Scorpius, my favourite zodiacal constellation (though not my “sign”), is also making it to the party.  Uranus and Neptune trail close behind; “fashionably late” to make sure they don’t arrive too soon, thus avoiding awkward small talk.  Obviously, the masters of their introversion.

Betelgeuse and Orion have barely escaped my arrival as they set.  I guess The Hunter knew I’d be a vegan one day 😄😜.


Bonus shots:

Quite a spectacle is near its maximum, though far below the horizon at 0653, as Jupiter and Mars would reach the peak of their conjunction the next day.
Meanwhile, Virgo steps on Pluto as Venus watches from nearby.

Download the Sky Guide app from the iTunes Store:
Full version

Download the SkyView app from the iTunes Store:
Full version
Free version

Download the SkyView app from Google Play:
Full version
Free version

Author: Kuri

Kuri is a nerdy, introverted, clean-eating vegan who moved to a small town in the USA. She spends her time running, gaming, learning about food, astronomy, and grammar, watching her favourite movies/television, reading, and being an overall fangirl.

Leave a Reply

