Unfruitful Creativity (>.<) — Drawing

11F227-unfruitfulHave you ever been in one of those creative moods where you just suddenly feel creative, whether or not you actually have anything in mind that will use it?

It happens to me all the time.  Like now.

So often over the years, I’ve been in a mood to write, especially with a pen, but I don’t really have any words to write.  So, I end up scribbling on a sheet of paper as if it were words until the mood is gone and I can finally get to sleep.

The worst is when I feel the creative mood to do something at which I’m not skilled.  At all.  Like drawing.  There are times when I’d love to stop and draw, whether an elaborate portrait or a quick comic.  But I suck.

Death Grip frame 3
One frame from my “The EMH” comic strip titled “Death Grip.”

OK, I can’t say I completely suck at the comic part because I had my own Star Trek: Voyager comic strip (plus a couple random ones) going about a decade ago.  But it was more about the silly stories in the comics than the actual art.  I drew the simplest figures I could — especially since I had to redraw them the same over and over.  No hands, and especially no faces.  (I do suck at drawing faces.)  It was great because I could draw every person the same, with one or two minor additions that signified which character it was.  Less hair for the Doctor (the hero of the comic), a face tattoo for Chakotay, forehead ridges for B’Elanna, etc.

Is it because I’m surrounding myself with this type of art and the people who can accomplish it?  Maybe.  I think it’s mostly because I get fangirl’d out, but instead of writing words my brain somehow decides I’ll be able to pull off some elaborate sketch.

What my brain thinks I can draw versus what I actually can draw.  **Exaggeration -- I can actually draw better than that.
What my brain thinks I can draw versus what I actually can draw. **Exaggeration — I can actually draw better than that.

Most of the time, I rechannel the mood to do another creative thing.  Sometimes I ignore the mood until it goes away.  Other times, I browse DeviantArt and realise that I couldn’t even pull off the not-so-accurate (though still great as art) drawings.

What about you?  Do you get cravings to do something creative you can’t do?

If so, how do you satisfy it?

If not, at what sort of creativity do you excel?

Let me know in the comments!

Author: Kuri

Kuri is a nerdy, introverted, clean-eating vegan who moved to a small town in the USA. She spends her time running, gaming, learning about food, astronomy, and grammar, watching her favourite movies/television, reading, and being an overall fangirl.

Leave a Reply

