The Devil’s Revenge

devil_wears_prada_wallpaper_01

I’ve already mentioned in a previous post that my obsession this year is movies.  (Yes, though I’m reading a heck of a lot more than ever, my favourite movies are really what make me swoon.)  There are actually six movies of which I’m so stuck in fandom that I watch them all the time.  (Yes, I do still watch a lot of other movies and TV programmes as well as have a real life, etc.)  I refer to these movies as “The Six.”

As you may have gathered from my “Cinema” video, one of The Six is The Devil Wears Prada.  Upon seeing that video, one of my friends sent me a link to the news that the book The Devil Wears Prada was soon to have a sequel!  I knew it was finally time to read the book.

Soon after beginning reading, I quickly figured out that besides character names being the same (except for Andy’s boyfriend) the movie and the book are not much alike.  This didn’t bother me at all.  I understand that books and movies are two completely different forms of media and what works for one may not work for the other.  (My “son” actually made a vlog about that subject this week.  View it here: http://youtu.be/g0K9q3sv2uA )

Sadly, the sequel didn’t even live up to my low expectations.  However without further ado, here’s my Goodread’s review of Revenge Wears Prada.

Revenge Wears Prada: The Devil Returns by Lauren Weisberger

16130307My Star Rating: ★✰✰✰✰

I didn’t *hate* this book, but it wasn’t interesting. There were parts where I thought “maybe this will finally be the thing that gives the story substance!” It never happened; I kept waiting for the story to get interesting. Finally, in chapter 21 I realised that this book was not going to “get good”; it was basically all filler with far too many useless details. I’ve never been a real believer in sequels, and this book was the worst in that case. There were interesting parts, but they never lasted, and overall the story lacked real substance.

Author: Kuri

Kuri is a nerdy, introverted, clean-eating vegan who moved to a small town in the USA. She spends her time running, gaming, learning about food, astronomy, and grammar, watching her favourite movies/television, reading, and being an overall fangirl.

Leave a Reply

