The End is Just the Beginning

You may or may not have noticed that for the first couple of months this year I only had two posts.  This is because I was stuck in an extended fandom where all I cared about for two months was two movies.  I went back-and-forth between watching The Three Musketeers and 2012 over and over again.  The longest extended fandom I had was in 2005 — for the entire year I was obsessed with Spider-Man 2 and didn’t care much about anything else.  (That, however, is a whole other story deserving its own entry.  First, let’s talk about 2012.)

2012-the-movie-the-2012-movie-27677249-1920-800

I saw 2012 once after it came out –whether in a theatre or on DVD, I don’t recall– and I thoroughly enjoyed it.  I love a good doomsday movie.  While I don’t find it to be an all-star cast, I recognised many people, even just in more background parts.  There were more obvious parts in leading roles such as John Cusack, Danny Glover, and Oliver Platt.  Lesser roles such as “the boss from Just Shoot Me” (George Segal), John Billingsley (who played Dr Phlox in Star Trek: Enterprise), and Woody Harrelson.  Then, there are the tiny parts that may have had a line or two, or even none at all!  “Sheriff Andy from Eureka” (Ty Olsson) had a line on Air Force One, and “King Midas from Once Upon A Time” (Alex Zahara) was part of the bridge crew on Ark 4.  (Yes, there were many more from each category, but instead of wasting time listing them all, I’ll just let you consult IMDb for yourself.)

I’m going to skip giving a summary of the movie and go straight to talking about it.

2012-the-movie-the-2012-movie-28088050-1920-800

If you know only one thing about me by now, it’s that I adore movies surrounding “the apocalypse.”  Imminent collisions with asteroids (such as Armageddon and Doomsday Rock), atmospheric/Terran catastrophes (such as 2012Arctic BlastThe Day After Tomorrow and The Core), destruction/zombification by human error (such as I Am Legend and the 2002 movie The Time Machine), and the list just keeps going.  I’m not sure why I get so excited about the end of the world, but it’s so fascinating!  It really gets my imaginative wheels turning and makes for great stories (whether I write them or not).  They also make the best dreams!

2012-the-movie-the-2012-movie-28317493-1920-800

The story of this movie is so much more complex than any B movie.  (Hollywood really knows their stuff!)  I love how the many individual stories come together by the end (whether or not they make it there alive), including grave mistakes that may end up saving someone, and are all integral to the ultimate survival of humanity.  In the end, the good guy wins.  (Eat it, Anheuser!)

2012-the-movie-the-2012-movie-27885938-1920-800

I’d spent enough time mentally in the world of 2012 that of course I started coming up with fan fiction in my head.  Once, I had even set out to write it.  I even went so far as to doing research into the history of the character I’d created.  (Not only did it help me figure out who she was exactly, but it also helped perfect her story from the lame one I’d had originally.)   However, after only writing a tiny bit of it I was done.  I’ll leave the fanfic to the ones who are still allowed to write.  (I happened across a 2012 fanfic called “The Last Day of the Cruise Ship” which I’m looking forward to reading.)

Keep up the good work, movie makers.  2012 is one film that made this moviegoer very happy.  Putting out more movies like this one sure wouldn’t disappoint me.

2012-the-movie-the-2012-movie-28664340-1920-800


All screenshots by lilyZ at FanPop.com.

Author: Kuri

Kuri is a nerdy, introverted, clean-eating vegan who moved to a small town in the USA. She spends her time running, gaming, learning about food, astronomy, and grammar, watching her favourite movies/television, reading, and being an overall fangirl.

Leave a Reply

