Viggle Understands My Fandom!

images

Have you heard of Viggle?  I know I just provided a link to the website, but I’m going to tell you about it anyway!

Viggle is an app for iOS or Android that allows you to earn points just for watching TV!  It’s brilliant!  You may have heard of Shazam, the app that lets your phone listen to a song and then give you information about it.  There have been so many times in my life when I could have benefited from Shazam.  The radio plays a song of which I really want to know the name or the artist, but the darn DJ doesn’t say!  (I’m thinking of a time before radio stations had live online streaming or feeds of what songs have just been played.)

Viggle uses about the same technology.  Turn on your TV, tap the big “V” check-in button, and Viggle will listen to your TV to detect what programme you’re watching.  (Don’t worry, if it can’t detect it for some reason after two tries it allows you to do a search and find it by name, keyword, or channel.)  It’s one point per minute, so watch an hour of TV and get 60 points!  Plus, in the “What’s On” tab under “Featured,” there is a list of upcoming shows that will give extra points for watching.  (Example: Comic Book Men was on last night listed as +100.  I received 30 points for each minute of the programme, plus an extra 100 points!)

This next part may sound discouraging, but honestly it’s not that difficult.  10,000 points will usually get you a $5 reward.  Don’t freak out on me!  It’s really not that hard!  I currently have over 130,000 points.  That’s after cashing in for some rewards, including a Viggle T-shirt for 37,000.  Yes, I watch a lot of TV, but part of my secret is to check in with a sports game before I go to bed.  It being the end of basketball season, I’ve been checking in at the beginning of any basketball game before going to bed.  I earn at least 120 points in my sleep that way!

Why did I finally decide to tell you about this?  Well, because Viggle recently excited my geek side.  Sometimes with featured programmes there is trivia available after checking in; an opportunity for more points!  As I was playing the trivia for Touch the other day, this question came up:

20130328-222828.jpg

I screeched with geeky excitement as I selected the correct answer, took screenshots for a blog, and revelled in the happenstance of my fandom.

20130328-222839.jpg
Of course I got it right! Shame on the 8% who completely missed that! ;oP

Author: Kuri

Kuri is a nerdy, introverted, clean-eating vegan who moved to a small town in the USA. She spends her time running, gaming, learning about food, astronomy, and grammar, watching her favourite movies/television, reading, and being an overall fangirl.

Leave a Reply

