Birthday Geek

20130108-182025.jpg

No, the title of this entry doesn’t mean that it’s my birthday. (Although, it is this upcoming Tuesday!) I mentioned in a post back in October that it was a certain director’s birthday, and stated that I’m a bit of a birthday geek. Since December is one of the months with, like, a hundred birthdays, I thought I’d write about it now.

I’m a stalker by no means! I just happen to know things. IMDb is my current main source of knowledge. When I see someone in a movie or an episode of a TV programme, and I know I’ve seen their face somewhere before, I go to IMDb to help me remember. Birth/death dates are usually listed if the information is available. IMDb is how I know things like Jeremy Renner has the same birthday as Hubby (7 January), Christopher Eccleston is exactly two months older than my dad (16 February, 1964), and Don S. Davis (General Hammond from Stargate SG-1) died back in 2008 :o(.

20121214-120104.jpg
General Hammond

Of course, I didn’t always have IMDb at my disposal, but I still seemed to know everyone’s birthday. Sometimes while watching TV with my mum (I got this birthday geek thing from her), we would come across ET (Entertainment Tonight) and we would watch the end when they mention that day’s celebrity birthdays.

Today? It’s Ted Raimi’s birthday (best known for his role in Xena: Warrior Princess as Joxer). This birthday info in my brain is special: it’s directly from him to me! Back in 2005, I wrote him a fan letter via e-mail and included the inquiry about his birthday. (This was before I discovered IMDb.) He responded (which was exciting enough) and included his birthday (which just added the excitement that it’s only four days before mine).

20121214-140237.jpg
Joxer the Mighty

I used to be so good at remembering birthdays that I would make the joke that 20 years from now I may not remember your name, but by golly I will remember your birthday! “Hey, er… 18 December! How are you?”

No longer am I quite that good. One day, after I did finally discover IMDb, I randomly ended up on a birthday rampage! I looked for the birthdays of a couple of actors, but then explored a bit and ended up writing down three pages worth of birthdays. Trying to learn all of them in such a short period of time overloaded my brain and short circuited part of the birthday geek section. Not only did I learn few to none of the birthdays from that day, but I also forgot some I had known before and mostly lost my ability to remember birthdays like a photographic memory.

I am still good at remembering birthdays and other dates, but I’m only at about 70-90 percent my old self. Though Facebook can be a help where my memory falls short, it can also be frustrating when a friend doesn’t believe that I remembered their birthday without Facebook’s help :o(.

Now for the December birthdays! (Only from my head; no cheating and looking any up. No names of people I know, as usual.)

9- Mother-in-law
10- Former co-worker
11- High school classmate
13- Sis-in-law
13- Dick van Dyke
14- Ted Raimi
15- Garrett Wang
16- Two high school classmates
16- My “niece” (friend’s 2nd daughter; her 1st birthday!)
16- My “niece”s real aunt
17- Friend from previous church
18- Me!
18- Two high school classmates
18- Steven Spielberg
18- Christina Aguilera
18- Brad Pitt
19- Two Trekkie friends
20- Former co-worker
23- Martin Kratt
25- Jesus (observed)
25- Friend from previous church
26- High school classmate
27- Former co-worker
31- High school classmate

(I know there are still many that I’m forgetting…)

Author: Kuri

Kuri is a nerdy, introverted, clean-eating vegan who moved to a small town in the USA. She spends her time running, gaming, learning about food, astronomy, and grammar, watching her favourite movies/television, reading, and being an overall fangirl.

Leave a Reply

