Post-Apocalyptic Dreams Are the “Bomb”!

Please see the “About any stories I may post” section of the About This Blog page.


I love doomsday movies. Armageddon, 2012, The Core, Volcano, The Day After Tomorrow, Arctic Blast,… Post-apocalyptic are just as great. The Book of Eli, I Am Legend, Planet of the Apes,…

Of course, watching these movies can lead to some fantastic dreams.

The dream I’m going to write about, however, wasn’t necessarily triggered by anything in particular, except for pure random fandom. Although, it was a sort of post-apocalyptic thing, but I don’t think it was on Earth. I also may not remember everything, nor remember it in any particular order, because I had the dream about two weeks ago.

Now without further ado…


Everything was desert-y: the landscape, the huts made of stone and some sort of skins, the sand-coloured clothing, and even everyone’s hair was either blond or brown. I (whatever sort of character I was “playing”) arrived at the camp of a tribe with my sister (who appeared to be only about age seven). (I guess the tribe we came from had been wiped out.)

Some period of time had instantly lapsed because we had already established at least a small acceptance into the tribe. There was some sort of fair going on at the edge of town and my sister was eager to go. I told her I wasn’t sure because I didn’t have the money to spend on much. The chief (whom I kept noticing throughout the dream looked exactly like Michael Shanks) had been nearby and overheard, handed me £160 without a word, then returned to discussing a matter with another tribesman. In shock of what just happened, I handed the money to my sister (though I planned to soon follow), and she immediately ran off to the fair with excitement. I looked over to the chief, surprised that he, personally, would take care of my sister and me.

Michael Shanks as Daniel Jackson in “Stargate SG-1”

Another sum of time instantly passed and as I was walking, I saw a blond-haired man holding the hand of a little girl as they walked in my direction. As they got closer, I saw that it was Joey and Michelle, about age 2-3, from Full House. She was eating a cake pop, and when they got to me she held it out. She said, “My daddy won’t let me have this, so you can have the rest.” I smiled, amused, and accepted it, noticing her tiny hands were covered in cake. (Yep – Danny sure wouldn’t have wanted to see that mess, haha.)

Joey and Michelle

More time had passed, and apparently I had made a few friends. There was some sort of celebration happening, and as the chief (to whom I had taken a fancy) and I walked passed the area where dancing was going on, a guy friend (who had taken a fancy to me) called me over to dance. (Let’s call this friend “Derek.”) I hesitated because I didn’t want to lead him on, but I figured there was no harm since it wasn’t slow music. We had fun, even though I didn’t dance very well (just like in real life, haha).

Some time later (maybe a day or two), my sister and I were walking with the chief, who was showing us to a new lake. (It looked more like some sort of small religious man-made pond with the concrete steps and the engravings on the pillars surrounding it.) I saw Jolene Blalock swimming slowly toward the steps, and as she got out of the lake the water level started rising quickly. I picked up my sister to prevent her from drowning, but it continued to rise several feet above our heads. At that point, I thought, Wait a minute. This is a dream; I don’t have to hold my breath. So, I took a deep breath, thought about the emerald and red waters from Ted Dekker’s Circle series of books (where the people breathe the waters), and tossed my sister in the “air” and she did a flip.

–This is where the order and events of the dream become quite foggy.–

The next thing I remember was that I was hanging out with Derek (who, by the way, sort of looked like the first Deputy Andy from Eureka, but was really tall and had a “fluffier” body). We were floating on the edge of a river in a giant hollowed out log. I think it was here that I was at a point where I had to “choose” a man. I felt uneasy around Derek because I didn’t want to choose him, but I knew he hoped I would.

The first Sheriff/Deputy Andy from “Eureka”

The last part I remember was me sitting by the lake with the chief. I told him that I had chosen someone (him, of course — makes sense since Michael Shanks somewhat resembles Hubby in certain ways), but I was nervous about telling Derek that it wasn’t him.


Yep, that’s the end of what I remember of the dream. Although, when I woke up I stayed in bed and was still tired enough that I was able to let the dream continue. I don’t count those parts of the dream because I had some influence ;oP. I couldn’t stop thinking about it the whole next day. If I still wrote stories it would have made a great mini series. Even the way it ended before I completely woke up left it open for a whole new major plot. Oy… But since I can’t write stories based on the dream I figured I’d write about the dream itself.

Years ago, I would do that all the time. I hated to forget anything, including dreams, so I would spend a couple of hours almost every morning writing out in my diary the details of anything remotely awesome I may have dreamt. It greatly contributed to my ability to write — even if it’s not stories that I’m writing.

Author: Kuri

Kuri is a nerdy, introverted, clean-eating vegan who moved to a small town in the USA. She spends her time running, gaming, learning about food, astronomy, and grammar, watching her favourite movies/television, reading, and being an overall fangirl.

Leave a Reply

