247

Years ago, my favourite numbers were 2 and 47.

“2” was because when I needed to create a new email address about 11 years ago, my name was taken, so I chose to put a “2” at the end.  (That email address is no longer in commission.)  It became my username for most websites.  I saw that number so often that eventually I sort of fell in love with it.

“47” is a number purposefully put everywhere in Star Trek shows, books, and movies.  I once found an article that explained why “47” is special, and it was the reason that it is used so often in Star Trek.  (I don’t remember what all the details were, but basically it came out to “all numbers equal 47.”)

I have favoured other numbers in the past for different reasons, but they are frivolous to this blog entry.

One day, I decided that with 2 and 47 being my favourite numbers, then 247 is awesome as it’s both of them together!  Eventually, 247 even succeeded its “parents” as my favourite number.

Being the dork that I am, I point out, or just smile, every time that I see my favourite number.  On license plates, the time, mile markers, pretty much anything, though I rarely allow “24/7” to count.

Why a whole post on my favourite number?  Not only because I’m a dork that way, but because this blog has reached 247 all-time views.  (It’s not much in general, but a lot for having not promoted by blog in any way including Facebook.)

I’ll end with five occurrences of 247.

1.  The cable channel number of the local weather where I lived in Oklahoma was 247.  (It was “24/7 local weather.”)

2. 247°F is the name of an R-rated 2011 American B movie.  In this movie, four friends travel to a lakeside cabin for a weekend holiday, when three of them end up locked in a sauna.  “Every minute counts and every degree matters as they fight for their lives in the heat up to 247°F.”  (Quote from IMDb brief summary.)

3. The Boeing 247 was an American passenger aeroplane that entered service in 1933.  It was faster than that year’s premier fighter plane, the Boeing P-12.

4. 247drums is a drum shop in Winchester, Massachusetts, where you can buy, rent, and trade to your drummer heart’s content!  And for those who want to learn to play, they offer free video classes on their website!

5.  Hmm… how about just some pictures of the number?

Do you see it?! :o)

Some screenshots from online games I’ve played:

Author: Kuri

Kuri is a nerdy, introverted, clean-eating vegan who moved to a small town in the USA. She spends her time running, gaming, learning about food, astronomy, and grammar, watching her favourite movies/television, reading, and being an overall fangirl.

1 thought on “247”

Leave a Reply

