Good-bye, My Doctor

I finally found the document I wrote right after seeing the Doctor Who special “The End of Time.” I warn you, there are spoilers! I give my summary of the end of this special, plus spoilers from a few previous episodes. So, if you haven’t seen the specials between series 4 and 5, series 3 episodes “Human Nature” and “The Family of Blood,” and series 2 episode “Doomsday,” then I suggest you wait to read this.


2 January, 2010

I just finished watching Doctor Who: The End of Time. It was, by far, the best episode I’ve ever seen. Lots of action, lots of eye-opening discoveries (seeing how and why things have happened), and lots of emotion. I’ve only had the chance to see one of the specials after series 4, but it was an important one. When, at the end, the woman tells the Doctor he will die “when he knocks four times.” All through this last episode I’m thinking that the drumming was the four knocks. Then, after the Time Lords and Gallifrey are gone, the doctor was still there. He was getting excited that he was still alive. I knew that wasn’t the end. Not only did I know there’s a new doctor coming, but with all the “prophecy” and stuff that had been in the show, even in series 4, I knew that Doctor #10 was supposed to die that episode. He’s on the floor, overjoyed that he’s alive, and then you hear Donna’s grandpa in the chamber knock four times. The Doctor loses his smile, knowing full well what’s about to happen. After a short conversation, the Doctor lets him out and absorbs all the radiation himself. After he says good-bye to the old man (mentioning that he’ll see him once more), the Doctor goes off to see and save some people that meant a lot to him while he was Doctor #10. Sarah Jane and her son, Mickey and Martha (who got married sometime between then and the last time we saw them), the granddaughter of the woman he fell in love with while he thought he was human (asking if she had been happy in the end), stopping by to see the old man again at Donna’s wedding, and finally Rose Tyler before they had met. He was leaning against a building, beginning to feel the pain of regeneration. She stopped and asked if he was alright and then figured he’d had too much to drink (it being New Year’s Day of the year they met). He said he thought it’d be a great year for her. She smiled and left. Even as he was walking to the TARDIS in pain, the Ood showed up and kept him going by keeping the song going until he reached the TARDIS. The Doctor’s last words as his tenth form were “I don’t want to go.”

They ended the episode the same as they do every episode; with excitement to prepare us for more adventure. Even with a new face and personality, they make sure we fans are coming back. Usually at the end of a series I’m so caught up in it when it’s over that I write a story or something. After watching the series 1 finale I had a half-asleep dream that spawned a story I started. It wasn’t really Doctor Who, but Christopher Eccleston was in my dream and he was the Doctor. I just had to change that for the story that I never completed. After the series 2 finale there was no story, but a video that I later redid to focus more on the Doctor and Rose than those last two episodes. I’m not sure if there was anything at the end of series three. After series four, I went to seto-kaiba.com where I have a Rose Tyler account and wrote a journal entry as if it was the night of that last episode. I’ve started a video since then, and had ideas for more, but haven’t had enough episodes in the right format to complete them. After these specials, it’s just this document.

This is it. After these specials, there is no more Doctor 10. I was sad when Christopher Eccleston was no longer the Doctor, too, but I had already recognised David Tennant as the Doctor before I started watching the show. I was late, I know. Series 3 was getting ready to start when I finally saw an episode. I should be happy since there are still adventures I haven’t seen with Doctor 10 (the other two specials), but it won’t be the same knowing that he’s gone.

I’ve been sitting here now for about 5-10 minutes. This is just so weird. I’ve known it was coming for almost a year, but I’m still sort of in shock. David Tennant’s been the Doctor for longer than I’ve been watching. I saw my first episode the first time I was living with Shelly*. I watched all of series 1 & 2 that summer. I got Jenny* to be a fan. She and I both cried (or at least I was miserably saddened) when Rose was left in the alternate universe to be eternally separated from the one she loved. That was only two-and-a-half years ago. Yet I feel like David Tennant’s Doctor hasn’t been just a part of my life, but part of me. Not only was he the perfect actor for the part, but the writers, directors, and everyone else involved in any way with the show are absolutely brilliant! I fell in love with Rose, not like she was a loved character or a sister, but like she was me. It’s true that I was never fond of Jack Harkness from the moment he showed up, but honestly it’s never bad to see him. Just thinking of Mickey, how he was, and what he has become.

The Doctor touches lives. The Doctor changes lives. Doctor #10 is, and always will be, my Doctor.

–space–

But bring on the changes.

–space–

*Names have been changed for protection purposes.


Sadly, seto-kaiba.com apparently no longer exists or I would have shared a link.

Author: Kuri

Kuri is a nerdy, introverted, clean-eating vegan who moved to a small town in the USA. She spends her time running, gaming, learning about food, astronomy, and grammar, watching her favourite movies/television, reading, and being an overall fangirl.

Leave a Reply

