Wood Elves Marry, Too…

I can’t believe that Skyrim has only been out for about ten-and-a-half months!  It seems like much longer.  Though I did take a break from it for a short while, the release of the add-ons has got me playing it a whole lot more again.  Hearthfire is the best 400MP ($4.99) I’ve ever spent!

I’ve known about the possibility of marriage in the game since it came out.  Though I did decide early on that I hoped to have my character marry a bard, I was never interested in it enough to pursue the goal of marriage until recently.  I mean, my daughter should have a father, right?

So, my decision to explore this part of the game was sparked in my quest with the Stormcloaks, after the battle in Whiterun when Jarl Ulfric was talking with Jarl Balgruuf.  I happened to notice Ralof there and thought he could be a good man for my character (probably what sparked the dream I had a few posts ago).  I figured that since he plays a big role in the game, he wouldn’t be “available,” and I was right.  (Though there is a mod that will allow you to marry NPCs that you normally can’t, but I didn’t feel like doing all that.  Ralof isn’t THAT worth it :oP.)

Ralof

I did start the quest, and kept my Amulet of Mara equipped while I did other quests in case I came across a possible good mate for my character, the Wood Elf, Amaryllis.  I got tired of that, and finally looked up all males in the game that are “marry-able.”  I’d already known about Argis, because he’s my housecarl in Markarth and expressed interest in me.  Even though he’s a bit freaky-looking, I kept him as a possibility because he’s a Nord with shoulder-length hair and a goatee.

20120921-212848.jpg
Argis the Bulwark

I also have really been wanting to become a Blood-Kin to the Orc people, because I’m so gosh darn curious as to what goes on in their strongholds.  I thought about the possibility of marrying an Orc to hopefully make that a piece of cake.  I did end up trying that, marrying Moth gro-Bagol, a blacksmith in Understone Keep. I wore my Arch Mage’s Robe for the ceremony and decided that we’d live in the home I built in The Pale, where Dorthe is anyway.  I was a Wood Elf married to an Orc with a Nord for a daughter, haha.  And a pet fox.  Can’t forget that pet fox.

20120921-212448.jpg
Moth gro-Bagol

After Moth made me Blood-Kin and I went to an Orc Stronghold, I realised that I had already mostly completed a quest to become Blood-Kin — I just had to talk to the guy to finish it off.  So, I loaded my saved game before Moth and Amaryllis got engaged and completed that quest again so I could be an Orc Blood-Kin and still get a Nordic husband.

I’m still considering to which Nord out of my three picks I would like Amaryllis to marry, but am now actually starting to miss Moth.  Hey, I’d already married the guy and had grown a bit attached to him in the few minutes that we were actually wed.

After finding this picture of Erik the Slayer (much different from previous one I’d seen), I think he’s my Nord choice, but I’ll still show you the third option I’d had for Amaryllis — Onmund, from the College of Winterhold.

Erik the Slayer
20120921-212922.jpg
Onmund

Though Erik is a great choice (buff Nord with a goatee and shoulder-length RED HAIR), I’m now torn between him and Moth.  For an Orc, Moth was very loving to Amaryllis whenever he spoke to her, which is what really brings this dilemma.  Call me girly if you will, but it’s almost like choosing between a guy you’ve dated who was really good to you and a guy that looks good and you know is really nice.  (His personality description says he “has a cheerful disposition, often commenting on stories of adventure while living in the house of your choice after marriage.”)  Whoa.  When you put it that way, I think that decides it…

I think I’m going to go find “the one who got away.”  Haha.

Author: Kuri

Kuri is a nerdy, introverted, clean-eating vegan who moved to a small town in the USA. She spends her time running, gaming, learning about food, astronomy, and grammar, watching her favourite movies/television, reading, and being an overall fangirl.

Leave a Reply

