Comedians, Cars, and Coffee

Have you heard about this free new media service called Crackle?  I happened to randomly see a commercial for it when I just happened to be watching TV at my in-laws’ house a few weeks ago.  Since it’s free, I decided to check it out.  Yes, it’s free because it’s chock-full of commercials and whatever limited amount of shows and movies are in the app are only there for three months before they expire.  Also, only about 2% of the content is stuff that I would watch, so it’s not really worth it to me.

However…

I was introduced to this Crackle-exclusive show Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee.  I love it!  It’s hosted by Jerry Seinfeld, who picks up a comedian to go have coffee and breakfast in a diner and hang out.  It’s always so much fun, even when it’s not quite so funny.  Each episode starts with shots of the car Jerry is driving this week and him talking about it.  (Don’t worry — though entertaining, that part only lasts maybe a minute.)  And the cars are always so pretty, too, even if they’re not actually great cars, haha.

Snapshot from the Ricky Gervais episode “Mad Man in a Death Machine.”

Sure, the average episode length is about ten minutes, and there aren’t many episodes (nine as of now, four when I started watching), but honestly it’s one of the highlights of my week.  I look forward to making myself a cup of coffee, sitting down in front of the TV or computer, and chilling with the comedians.  I like it a whole lot more than watching a stand-up routine, because with that I’m expecting the comedy and therefore it doesn’t quite “tickle my funny bone” as much as it could.  With this show, it’s pretty much the same as hanging out with funny friends.  You know they’re funny, but you’re not expecting the funny — you just have a good time and a great laugh!

Yes, there are a couple episodes I don’t particularly find funny (though I won’t mention which ones), but whenever one like that shows, I just go back and watch the episode with Ricky Gervais.  It’s my absolute favourite, and it never fails to make me laugh.

New episodes come out on Thursdays at 9pm Eastern Time.  It makes for a great start to my Friday. :o)


Long Promo From Crackle

Author: Kuri

Kuri is a nerdy, introverted, clean-eating vegan who moved to a small town in the USA. She spends her time running, gaming, learning about food, astronomy, and grammar, watching her favourite movies/television, reading, and being an overall fangirl.

1 thought on “Comedians, Cars, and Coffee”

Leave a Reply

